Call Lisa on 07958 299706
Yoga with Lisa
Enfield & N21
07958 299706

What is a Chakra?

In the yoga tradition there is a part of the body that you can’t see or touch, it is known as the energy body and is where subtle energy exists.  There are seven key points of energy within the body and these are known as Chakras.

A chakra is a vortex or spinning wheel of energy, the literal translation of the word chakra means wheel or disc.

The Chakras align the spine starting at the base of the spine and finishing at the crown of the head. Each of the seven main chakras contains nerves and major organs as well as our psychological, emotional, and spiritual states of being.  Since everything is moving, it’s essential that our seven main chakras stay open, aligned, and fluid.

If there is a blockage, energy flows are restricted, it triggers physical, mental, or emotional imbalances that manifest in symptoms such as anxiety, lethargy, or poor digestion. A well-tuned asana practice can free up energy and stimulate an imbalanced chakra, paving the way for that wonderful internal shift for which yoga is known.  It is possible tap into the chakras as a potent way of harnessing and shifting your energy in the direction you want it to go.

Categorised as: Blog